Ayakashi Triangle Episode 1–12 Anime Series Review

DoctorKev
2 min readJan 14, 2024

--

2023 was a heavy year for anime, with lots of big name shows dominating online discourse. One show that seemed to be forgotten (perhaps mostly due to its terrible production woes) was ecchi comedy Ayakashi Triangle. I’d already read the manga, after fellow AniTAY writer TheMamaLuigi kept bugging me about it, and this anime version was a lot of fun.

I’ve previously written about the show a few times on various seasonal anime articles published on AniTAY, but I jumped at the chance to write about it on Anime News Network so that I could tell more people about this very silly, very horny, very funny show. You can read my full review of the whole season below.

Additionally, I wrote a further entry for ANN’s Winter 2024 Preview Guide, this time for the return of Urusei Yatsura, a franchise very close to my heart. I still have my old PAL VHS tapes from the 1990s somewhere, and a bunch of Viz Comics’ original aborted run of the manga. They’ve since returned to publish the whole lot, so I’m slowly acquiring each of the new omnibus manga editions. Hopefully I’ll get them all before they fall out of print!

Anyway, this new version of Urusei Yatsura is a lot of fun, it strikes a different tone to the 1980s version — sometimes this is good, other times it loses a little of the original’s pure anarchic insanity. Regardless, I’m glad it’s back for another 23 episodes. You can read my entry about it below:

That’s my contributions to this season’s preview guide over and done with, but I’ve submitted a bunch of other reviews to ANN, and I’ll continue to drop links to them here on Medium as they’re published.

--

--

DoctorKev

Physician. Obsessed with anime, manga, comic-books. Husband and father. Christian. Fascinated by tensions between modern culture and traditional faith. Bit odd.