Anime Dad — How Mamoru Hosoda’s Films Speak to Me

DoctorKev
2 min readMar 29, 2024

Back in 2022, I wrote a series of detailed reviews of Mamoru Hosoda’s anime movies. It’s hard to believe it’s been over two years since his last movie Belle came to Western cinemas, and so far we’ve heard nothing about his next release. At least in the US, some of his earlier films are gaining a re-release in movie theatres later this year.

Today, Anime News Network published my overall retrospective of Hosoda’s filmography from the viewpoint of a parent. I did write this almost two years ago, so I’d almost forgotten what I’d written. Please follow the link below to read it. Hosoda can be a divisive director, but I hope you’ll understand why his films resonate with me so deeply.

Below this, you’ll find an index of my full reviews of his previous six films. Please check them out!

--

--

DoctorKev

Physician. Obsessed with anime, manga, comic-books. Husband and father. Christian. Fascinated by tensions between modern culture and traditional faith. Bit odd.